Posted by: jt | October 18, 2010

who am i to blow against the wind

True story: I haven’t applied for a single job since I left Seattle. I have worked on applications. I have regularly searched for jobs. I’ve found a few postings that, at least on paper, were right up my ally. And I let them all go by.

I wasn’t ready.

There are plenty of people in my life who would take my head off for this, but really. I haven’t been in a space where I’ve been able to think about working. The last thing in the world I’ve wanted to think about is working. Call me Little Ms. Hippie Granola, but I think that kind of, oh, complete disinterest carries over into applications. I certainly haven’t had the energy to pull of that kind of charade in an interview.

This role occasionally requires long hours and the odd weekend. Are you okay with that?
NO. I AM NOT OKAY WITH THAT. I WANT TIME FOR A LIFE, YOU FUCKING TIME-SUCKING, SOUL-ROBBING VAMPIRES.

See? It’s better this way.

This morning I woke up and that shift finally clicked in my brain – it’s time. I’m ready. I have energy. I don’t feel strung out and useless. Let’s. Go.

I had pretty much forgotten about www.astro.com. Reading my horoscope was (is this a bad thing?) part of my work routine – a quick diversion when my brain needed a break. I swear, I was never into this shit before this site. Never. I’m the chic who was born on the cusp and used to read both horoscopes and “choose” the better one. Cheeky? Me?

A few days ago, at a rather low point (can’t imagine why), I came back to the sight and y’know what it says?

Here’s Tuesday:

Personal Daily Horoscope of Tuesday, 19 October 2010
for Jennifer

Profession and social standing
Valid during several weeks: This is a time when you should turn your attention to the most outward aspects of your life – your career, your role in the larger society and your standing and reputation within the community. You should also take this time to examine your life as a whole and see if you are going in the direction you want and making adequate progress in your life. This transit is future oriented rather than past oriented. You may have to deal with elements of your past, but only to make corrections so that you can plan more intelligently for the future. The only real danger of this transit is that if you have done something wrong or in a slipshod fashion it may be exposed now and trip you up in unpleasant ways. It would be a very good idea to look over your life and correct any situations that might give you problems in this way.

That is, um, freakishly spot-on for what I need to do.

And, wait for it, here’s Wednesday:

Personal Daily Horoscope of Wednesday, 20 October 2010
for Jennifer,

Business communication
Valid during several days: Under this influence you should make plans concerning your professional life or the equivalent area of your life. Think about what you have been doing along these lines and whether or not it is working out as you want it to. If necessary, plan to make changes that will improve it for you. This is also a favorable time to talk to superiors, bosses or employers about your work and how you may advance in your job. This may or may not be a good time for actually trying to get a promotion, depending on other factors. But you can use this time to find the best way to go about getting a promotion. During this time you may also become involved with the part of your business that involves communicating with the outside world, either through advertising or through contract negotiations.

I hear you, universe. And I totally agree.

It’s finally time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

