Posted by: jt | July 16, 2010

i see the bad moon arising

Sometimes I wonder how, if I do have kids, I can raise them to share my values when I’ll have to instill them through completely different channels.

I was raised to be a Good Little Christian. I tried. For a really long time. And I’m not. Christianity does, however, inform my value systems and beliefs and it’s difficult for me to imagine how to so effectively teach the lessons I learned without the community, ritual and scripture that is so well-established in “the church.”

I was raised to believe in science and practicality. I was taught that there is no such thing as ghosts. After seeing one and having multiple smart, sane friends who’ve had definite “supernatural” experiences, I don’t think I could bring myself to teach a child that, there’s no such thing as ghosts. My biggest issue there is, there were many nights as a kid when I clung to that mantra – and actually believed it – and it’s the only reason I ever fell asleep.

Until I was introduced to www.astro.com by a friend, I put absolutely no stock in astrology. Having been born on the cusp between Taurus and Gemini, I used to read both horoscopes and jokingly “choose” whichever I liked better.

If you know your place and time of birth, I defy you to use that site and not find its accuracy unnerving. It’s not always 100% on…but maybe 90%. I generally read my horoscope toward the end of the day (unless I’m having a bad day and need some reassurance or forewarning on the next day) so I don’t feel like my opinion is being swayed. I used to find it bizarre. Now I just nod along.

This was/is today. And it’s pretty much spot on. And I’m trying.

Don’t cave in
During this time most people have to deal with feelings of doubt, discouragement and inadequacy. Also you may find yourself unpleasantly confronted by the consequences of past actions that you hoped would simply go away. The challenge is to confront them without caving in and feeling hopeless. Now you will question whether you are doing what you should with your life. The temptation is to decide that you are not, and to give up. Others may try to convince you that you are on the wrong course and give you very demoralizing advice. Of course, you may in fact be wrong in some area, and there you should change course. But you must avoid the tendency to cave in. Evaluate what you are doing in your own terms, not someone else’s, and decide whether you are acting properly in various matters.

Responses

  1. I think the way you’ll raise your children to share your values is by just living your values. And of course, your children will be individuals with their own minds, so they might choose a different way. But you will have shown then your way with integrity and forthrightness. (Okay, that word sounds REALLY Christian but I really just meant it in general! Why does it sound so… hellfire and brimstone? Is it just because I’ve been watching too much Big Love lately?)

  2. You’re right…I know you are. It’s just hard for me to conceive (:P) of a childhood without Bible stories and Sunday school and VBS…which those things could still occur, but definitely not in the same way I experienced them.

    Hello, cart. Let me put you before the horse.

  3. Well, I had a childhood w/o Sunday school or VBS and I think I turned out alright. ;)

  4. …or Bible stories, for that matter.

  5. :D Of course. It’s not that I think any of those things are required, they’re just what I know.

    And, more importantly, they were valuable and positive experiences for me. That’s part of why it was so hard for me to get to the point of saying that I’m not a Christian, because my experience with church, the Christians at my church, and Christianity as an institution weren’t negative.

    I just don’t believe their primary point. Details.

  6. There’s always the Unitarian Church. They also apparently have excellent sex ed.

  7. :-)

    Yeah…I’ve thought about Unitarian, but I think interfaith is probably the only way I could go. I dunno. :P


Leave a Reply

Categories

