Posted by: jt | June 17, 2010

brought to you courtesy of the red, white and blue

I can’t begin to count the number of times I’ve smilingly used the line, Your English is much better than my Arabic/Russian/German/Spanish/French/Bulgarian/Japanese/insert language of choice here to attempt to make someone feel less self-conscious about their non-native English.

Every time I say it, I’m grateful that English is my native tongue because fer fuck sake, y’all we’re ridiculous.

I Tweeted about the infinite greyness of Seattle’s sky this evening and – oh, internet – then Googled “grey gray” to better contemplate the origins of that spelling disparity. My slight ADD and over-clickiness led me down the following path, which just affirms my gratitude for the privilege of having grown up speaking English:

shove
love
dove
above
glove
hover

stove
cove
jove
rove
wove
dove
grove

And the somewhat inexplicable:

move
&
prove

Yep. We’re ridiculous.

………

Update: Just because it makes me smirk…I batted around several ideas for the title for the post and couldn’t remember this actual phrase. To find it, I Googled offensive country song after 9/11. Indeed, the Toby Keith classic was the top hit.

Responses

  1. Funny, I assumed (!) the title came from Hair.


Leave a Reply

Categories

