Posted by: jt | March 13, 2009

to fight the unbeatable foe

I think I am, generally, a pretty patient person. I let waiting cars turn in front of me in traffic. I’m nice to the hotel staff member who gets to apologize because someone else fucked up my bill. I edit documents three times that I could do once on my own so my interns can learn from their mistakes.

I believe I am, on the whole, a patient, flexible kind of girl.

This situation, however, has me stretched a bit tight.

I’m beginning to feel it in my heart. I feel…thin. Sort of stretched, like…butter scraped over too much bread. I need a holiday. A very long holiday.

I’m tired of being pressured to use software that doesn’t work, that isn’t accessible and disenfranchises people, and that has a support team that is never – ever – capable of fixing a problem.

This software was designed by a former Microsoft employee, specifically for a Large Government Agency. The joke writes itself: What do you get when you cross a Large Government Agency with Microsoft?

Not only is the ghastly result of that combination self-evident to anyone who’s ever a) used Microsoft products, b) worked on a government project, or c) filed their own taxes, but let me point out a key flaw in that logic. I do not work for a Large Government Agency. Why does said agency think they are capable of designing software for my use? I work at a nonprofit, which contracts with the LGA on specific projects, but I do not work for the government.

God help me, I do not work for the government, and until the day they fully fund my work – as opposed to 10% of it – they do not get to dictate how I do my job.

Today we installed an update on this software that we’re constantly pressured to use. This new version was supposed to do three things:

1. Create two new reports to reformat information.
2. Remove information, now to be placed in the new reports, from an existing report.
3. Allow us to export information without the system crashing.

After rebooting a server for the entire office (always a popular thing to do), the software indicated that everything installed correctly – Version 2.2.3 is now up and running. This new version does the following:

1. No new reports are available.
2. The information from the existing report was removed.
3. The system crashed when we tried to export data.

To sum up: We now have access to less information than we did this morning.

And people get pissy at me because I resist? It’s been a long week. I’m not in the best of moods but, really.

I’m tired of tilting at windmills. I’m ready to burn them down.

Responses

  1. […] written about my increasing frustration and descent into insanity over this a time or two. A couple of months ago, I had a falling out, via email, with a friend who represents TPTCTB and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

