Posted by: jt | March 7, 2009

i believe we can reach the morning light

I can count on my fingers the number of times, in almost 29 years, that I’ve remembered a dream. This is a rare, rare thing and without fail, remembering serves a higher purpose – the dream either comes true or it teaches me something that I do not want to learn.

Given that I woke up this morning from a dream about an apocalypse, let’s hope I have something to learn.

It was a bizarre dream and made no sense whatsoever. Since the older I get, the more “woo-woo” I seem to become and I have the whole wide internet at my fingertips, I did a quick search and found myself at Dream Moods. Let me tell you, if I would have had this site ten years ago, it would have saved me years of anxiety…but that’s another story.

This morning’s dream was a cohesive scene, but I’m going to intersperse the dream narrative with the interpretation from Dream Moods’ dictionary.

………

I was at my boss’ apartment, a converted downtown storefront, and I stood facing a large window. Out of nowhere, a giant appeared, walking down the street.  I saw other people panicking, but I wanted them to give it the benefit of the doubt. Initially, the giant seemed nice – smiling and friendly – and I was excited. How cool – a giant! Then it picked up a woman, gave her a cursory look, and carelessly tossed her to the ground, killing her. Simultaneously, the weather changed and a slight wind picked up. The giant turned around with a menacing glint in his eye and said, “Keep up the wind.”

Giant – To see a giant in your dream, indicates a great struggle between you and your opponents. You are trying to overcome an overwhelming obstacle. Alternatively, a giant symbolizes an issue, a person or a feeling that is dominating you. You are having an inferiority complex.

Wind – To dream that the wind is blowing, symbolizes your life force, energy, and vigor. It reflects changes in your life. Alternatively, the dream suggests that you need to speed up toward achieving your goals or solving some lingering problem.

The giant turned and walked back in the direction he had come from, disappearing as quickly as he’d appeared. People were panicking and running in the streets. The buildings all around us were catching fire from the inside – the wiring was shorting out. Our building wasn’t on fire, but it was obviously only a matter of time. The people running out of the buildings around us were exhaling flames.

Fire – Depending on the context of your dream, to see fire in your dream can symbolize destruction, passion, desire, illumination, transformation, enlightenment, or anger. It may suggest that something old is passing and something new is entering into your life. Your thoughts and views are changing. …the dream may be warning you of your dangerous or risky activities. You are literally “playing with fire”…To dream that a house is on fire, indicates that you need to undergo some transformation.

Taking stock of the situation, to see if we had the capacity to potentially wait things out, I opened the refrigerator. It was packed full of one of my favorite kinds of yogurt.

Yogurt – To see or eat yogurt in your dream, suggests that you need to learn to behave appropriately for the different situations and circumstances you find yourself in.

It was clear that we needed to get out. My boss had lain down on the couch in denial, drinking sweet tea, the moment the giant appeared. I took her by the hand and led us out of her apartment through the back door.

Boss – To see your boss in your dream, represents the bossy or authoritative side of your own personality. Your boss may reveal self-confidence and the assertive aspect of yourself. It is telling of your issues of control and authority.

Tea – To dream that you are making or drinking tea, represents satisfaction and contentment in your life. You are taking your time with regards to some relationship or situation.

As we left the building, headed toward the car, a panicked and disheveled woman emerged from a dark doorway and threw deflated rubber balls at us in self-defense. The streets were also covered in golf balls.

Ball – To see or play with a ball in your dream, symbolizes completeness and wholeness. It may also indicate that you need to be more in tune with the inner child within. The dream may also be a metaphor for the testicles or that “he’s got balls” to indicate guts and strength.

We were headed for my boss’ car and I would have definitely driven, since she was essentially paralyzed. I didn’t know how far we’d make it in the car before we had to walk, but my plan was to get as far as we could. I considered driving in the opposite direction that everyone else was running, since there would be fewer people there with fewer problems, but reasoned that this was probably where the giants were and it wouldn’t be safe. Knowing this, I still hadn’t decided which way to go.

I was still trying to decide if the best path was to drive straight toward where the giants must be.

I woke up before we got to the car.

Car – To dream that you are driving a car, denotes your ambition, your drive and your ability to navigate from one stage of your life to another. Consider how smooth or rough the car ride is. If you are driving the car, then you are taking an active role in the way your life is going.

………
I concede that, most of the time, we see what we want to see – we interpret what we want the answer to be.

I think it’s the yogurt that blew me away.

Earlier this week, I cried myself to sleep because a partner at work let me down (not my boss, but someone whose role it is to represent my interests). I should say, let me down again. Instead of representing my interests, and those of weaker partners, they’re planning to do the opposite.

This is all in relation to a situation in which I felt they knowingly used me to do their dirty work. They knew I would do it and they didn’t have the guts to do it themselves, so I waged a one-woman campaign and got the work done. Now that I’ve achieved the results – and not without personal cost – this organization is actually working to subvert those results. Worse yet, they fail to understand that this a problem. To them, everything is as it should be – except me – being a pain in the ass. Again.

Yes…giants, wind, fire, yogurt, my boss, tea, deflated rubber balls, and a car. It makes scarily perfect sense.

I still don’t know exactly how I’m going to proceed, but it does take a certain kind of fool to just drive toward the giants now, doesn’t it?

Perhaps we drive toward the giants after we’ve found other people with the courage to face them.

Hm.

Responses

  1. Oh, my god. Now I’m going to get sucked into that site! Look what you’ve done!

    I just always remember reading, when I was about 17 or 18, that dreaming of your teeth falling out is supposed to symbolize issues w/ your mother. And I thought, give me a break, what a cop-out! What *doesn’t* symbolize issues w/ your mother? It’s the go-to explanation if you can’t come up w/ anything else!

    But seriously, about dreams and meaning, well… I think sometimes there’s symbolism and deeper meaning. But sometimes it’s just a mish-mash of stuff that’s been in your brain that day. Sometimes I’ll have a really disturbing dream, but if I sit and think about it, I can pull out the pieces and where each came from. That helps me feel better when it was a particularly disturbing dream.

    Your dream here sounds like it would make a good movie! It kind of reminds me of War of the Worlds, which now will (cursedly) forever be associated w/ Tom Cruise in my mind.

  2. :D Well…since I so rarely remember my dreams, it’s easier to see interpret them as having some significance, especially since they’ve historically been so enlightening for me.

    Oh, god, can you imagine how much better I would understand my psyche if I remembered all my dreams! Now I feel cheated!

    Your dream here sounds like it would make a good movie!

    Oh, no…now I see myself writing a screenplay that’s an allegory for my life.

    OY!

    S’cuse me though, I have to go finish my email to Barack asking him why he never updates Twitter any more. Hello…he’s got stuff to tell me! And presumably other people, but really, ME!

  3. […] See the original post here:  i believe we can reach the morning light « abundance of absurdities […]

  4. love the way you write….i can imagine you talking…..good work…..here is another idea….Vision Map Videos…..just like vision boards, even more fun and productive…enjoy….and thanks for brightneing my day!!!

    darlene
    http://visionmapvideo.blogspot.com/

  5. […] This situation, however, has me stretched a bit tight. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

