Posted by: jt | March 2, 2009

offer me solutions offer me alternatives and i decline

Lovelies, I have no aversion to melodrama.

None.

(She writes, as a paragraph unto itself.)

This, however, I believe takes things a bit far.

whatsheholdingWhat the fuck is that man holding?

It it clearly, definitively, not a gun.

It sure as hell looks like gun.

Woe betide the trader on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange! Woe is he, as the Dow plummets to below 7,000! It’s the end of the world as we know it!

And honestly, I feel fine.

I’ll admit, a Dow below 7,000 sounds pretty scary. I don’t really know what that means, but it sounds bad. Based upon this picture, it’s apparently suicide-inducingly bad.

Y’know what my first thought was when I heard how low the Dow closed today? Damn, I wish I could afford to buy stocks. Buy low and sell high, right? It’s time to start buying. Sure, we’ll probably dip a bit lower before we recover, but how greedy must you be?

If you can, invest. I’m not asking you to do so for the economy. I’m not asking you to do so out of some patriotic duty. I’m asking you to do it because, damn, it’s the smart thing to do right now.

If only I could get a loan from a bank to invest…

Responses

  1. He’s on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange… WITH A GUN IN HIS HAND!!!

    /obscure reference to old inside joke

    But seriously, what the hell. They print that photo with no explanation whatsoever?

    I’m not asking you to do so out of some patriotic duty. I’m asking you to do it because, damn, it’s the smart thing to do right now.

    Wow, that statement… I think you have a future career in politics, ma’am. :)

  2. I think you have a future career in politics, ma’am. :)

    Oy. I do wonder if the day will come when I stop running away from it and just embrace it. I’m definitely not there right now.

    Regardless, I don’t think I’m a candidate. I think the closest I would ever come would be a campaign manager or a speechwriter. And it would have to be for a candidate like Obama or Feingold or Wellstone.

    I have to believe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

