Posted by: jt | January 26, 2009

a new fantastic point of view

I am the cheesiest person I know and it is with no shame whatsoever that I admit, I’ve been humming the theme from Disney’s Aladdin for the last week.

The endless musical inside my head keeps bouncing from line to line, from

a whole new world

to

it’s the end of the world as we know it

to

what a world it seems we live in

to

starting up a brand new day

to

is this the place that I’ve been dreaming of?

Yes, there is a bit of a theme. I’ve had countless moments since last Tuesday when I’ve been – happily – reduced to a high-pitched Eeeeeeeeeeeee! while my hands reach out and up above my head in pure celebration.

I have no illusions. I really don’t. Barack is going to let me down. He’s going to break my heart. Alas, as he said, he was not born in a manger. I’m so hyper-aware of his fallibility, but damn. It was an amazing first week and I am reveling in it.

Savoring.

Basking.

Say it out loud again, just for fun, President Obama.

Based on what little news I saw today, it seems like Republicans took the weekend to find their bitchpants, but I don’t care. I’m still giddy!bouncy!happy!happy!squee!

This is about the best I can do to explain how I feel. It’s called the Gratitude Dance and if you aren’t familiar with it, it’s about time. If you have seen this, it’s not like you could possibly watch it too much.

Gratitude. For my country. Dude, that’s fuckin’ awesome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

