Posted by: jt | December 18, 2008

“it don’t snow here” it stays pretty green

I love the Zora Neale Hurston quote that There are years that ask questions and years that answer. I’m a shameless whore for memes and since I never seem to get as much written here as I’d like, this will at least give me something resembling a wrap on 2008.

Looking back on the year, this is pretty paltry.  I asked myself a lot of questions and came away with better answers than I expected. Alas, these aren’t those answers.

Regardless – meme!

What did you do in 2008 that you have never done before?
This, i.e. blogged.

Did you keep all of last years resolutions?
I’m not big into resolutions. My lone one was to try blogging. And…I believe we’re self-evident.

Have you any resolutions for next year?
Hm. I suppose there are a few goals that I could phrase as resolutions but I’m resistant, since they’re not really resolutions so much as things I’m going to make happen. Resolutions feel like “trying” and these are things I will do. e.g. Find a new therapist; Find a yoga class and/or tennis lessons; Register to vote in *gulp* Washington.

What countries did you visit?
*sniff* That’s damn depressing…but, y’know, I did a lot of first-time domestic travel that was quite lovely.

What would you like to have in 2009 that you didn’t have in 2008?
A close friend or two in the city I live in – the kind of person I don’t have to have plans to get together with.

What date in 2008 will remain etched in your memory?
Not one. I don’t remember numbers.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I started out with, Possibly talking someone out of illegally trying to stay in the U.S. or perhaps demanding (and getting) a funeral service for my grandpa. Not true. Hands down, my biggest achievement has been starting to realize and internalize my self worth.

What was your biggest failure?
Hm. I really wanted to get more done in my last job before I left. I’m frustrated that I didn’t tie up all of my loose ends before I had to leave. Fail stamp.

Did you suffer any illness or injury?
I was pretty damn depressed for a few months there but, on the physical side, it was an up year. No pain and no nausea – for the first time in…at least ten years. Score. I did have a wretched cold/flu thing in November, but…please.

What was the best thing you bought?
Bought? Um. Therapy. I purchased many hours of therapy, ergo buying deeper insights into myself. I’ll stop there before I turn this into a MasterCard ad.

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
My family, particularly the ‘rents, drove me a little batty (or more than a little), particularly concerning my grandpa’s death…but my dad’s sister and her clamoring for more than anything resembling a fair share of my grandpa’s estate was beyond appalling. Gross.

Where did most of your money go?
Rent.

What did you get really really really excited about?
Barack. Obama. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

What do you wish you’d done less of?
I watched a helluva lot more television than I normally would. Damn cable lured me in. Bravo: television for fags and hags.

How will you be spending Christmas?
Roughly as much time in airports as with relatives. S’okay. I’ll have quiet time when I get back to Seattle.

Which LJ/OD users bloggers did you meet for the first time?
That I read? None.

Did you fall in love in 2008?
This just begs for a cheesy answer, doesn’t it? I love me a lot more than I did in 2007. That’s as good as I could have done for this year…and it’s pretty kickass.

How many one night stands?
Not a one.

What was your favourite TV show?
The Daily Show – there’s really no other option for this year.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Wow. Um, no.

What was/were the best books you read?
Lamb by Christopher Moore. Hi. Larious.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Discovery? What is this, American Idol? I seriously got into Ben Folds much more than I ever had before and Coldplay’s been getting a lot more…play with me.

What did you want and get?
A way out of DC!

What did you want and not get?
A fair price on my furniture.

What was your favourite film this year?
I left my movie buddies in Minnesota. I aspire to fix that.

*Update: this makes it sound like I saw no movies this year…not true, I’m just behind. We’ll give this one to The Dark Knight. All things Christian Bale are worth watching…perhaps with the exception of Newsies. Um. Who thought that a musical full of adolescent boys was a good idea?

What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
I talked to my sister (can’t have a birthday without her, since hers is the day before mine), had dinner with a friend and drinks with another. I was, and am, 28.

What one thing would have made your year more satisfying?
Al Franken running a good campaign. I want that seat back, dammit. Present (re)count, Franken is behind by 2 votes. [brain explodes from Teh Drama]

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Deprived. Shopping in DC sucks and, in acquiescing to the more “professional” style of dress, I lost a lot of my personal quirkiness. Let’s add, find a good shoe counter to the list of resolutions.

What Who kept you sane?
Amber and Jennifer

Which celebrity did you fancy the most?
Oh, such British English! Who did I fancy? In the grand scheme of my celeb admiration capabilities, it was a pretty tame year. If pressed, I’d probably have to go with Roger Federer but… Jon Stewart certainly elicited many more “I love you”s from me. And I still adore Craig Ferguson (that should really go without saying, lovelies). Roger was just so unexpected. /babble

Which political issue stirred you the most?
Ugh. I hate that this is the case. I wish I could purge all thoughts of this person from my brain; Sarah Palin. The horror.

Who did you miss?
I was a million miles from home. I missed a lot of people. That said, every time I get lost, I miss Robin so much my stomach goes cold. She always had direction to spare.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned this year?
I’m worth it. Tiny little lesson, that.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year…

I’m going back home to the West Coast.
– Coconut Records, “West Coast”

Crazy but true, I had that song on repeat back in April…four months before moving to the West Coast occurred to me as remotely plausible.

………
The title of this post doesn’t make a lot of sense, I know…but it is coming on Christmas, I was told that it doesn’t snow in Seattle, and that song is in my head. *shrug*

Responses

  1. my biggest achievement has been starting to realize and internalize my self worth.

    I am so proud of you. <3

  2. I love the Zora Neale Hurston quote that There are years that ask questions and years that answer.

    I could have sworn I had that one in my header quotes. I must not have migrated it when I moved the database. Adding it now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

