Posted by: jt | November 24, 2008

stille, stille, stille – noch

Herein lies my problem: having just returned from dropping off the last of the clothes (forgot to take a bag of shoes – damn), I’m exhausted and in the midst of a coughing fit. Just from a quick little trip to drop off clothes. :P

On a related note, does anyone else think in other languages when excessively tired? Since I’m far from fluent in anything but English (keep yer comma and spelling commentary to yourselves), it’s not surprising that I throw in English words when I don’t know something. As in:

Wo ist mein make up bag?

Seriously. Where the fuck is my make up bag? It’s been missing for almost two weeks now. I brought it back from Minnesota. I brought it back from Seattle. Le sigh.

Tossing in some English here and there makes sense. What confuses me me is when I end up with sentences like this:

Sie sind fantastique.

That’s a combination of German and French. It makes no sense that I would go that route since my French is seul pleasantries and…hopefully I’ve got more German than that.  Plus, I do actually know the German word for fantastic (it’s really hard – fantastisch). Perhaps my brain just thinks the French pronunciation is more fun? Anything ending in “ique” just sounds happier. And indeed – the space bags, they are fantastic.

It disturbs me that this combination actually passed my lips this afternoon:

Dónde está mein tape?

Three languages in four words. Yowzah. Spanish (Dónde está), German (mein) and English. (That’s just “tape,” not tah-pei or anything interesting.) Again, I see no reason for my brain to switch between them. It’s not like I don’t know the Spanish for “my.” I can easily ask where my something is in either German or Spanish (or French or Italian). What the fuck, brain? I revert to my most valued phrase from my time in Austria:

Es macht kein Sinn!

I love that country and Vienna…there is no place like Vienna at Christmastime. If I had the means, I would be there now…and in the fall…and, and, and…Vienna. Now, please. That said, the number of times I threw my hands up and ranted, It makes no sense! while I was there…Come to think of it, I’ve uttered that sentence far more during my time in DC.

I need to try to find the energy to keep packing so I can get out of this town that does not like me, but won’t seem to let me leave.

………

For those who, like me, need to know:

auf Deutsch: tape = das Klebeband

en Español: tape = la cinta adhesiva

The Spanish makes good sense and the German makes me particularly happy since “Klebe” is glue. It’s a band of glue; glueband. Why create a new word when you can just jam two together? Ah, German.

Später, mes amis.

Responses

  1. “La cinta adhesiva” is my favorite cognate of tape. Seven syllables, three words in Spanish; one syllable, one word in English.

    I did read “tape” as “tah-pei” the first time around, assuming it was non-English. Also, because why would I assume you’re looking for a tape? That’s so 20th century!

  2. Also, because why would I assume you’re looking for a tape? That’s so 20th century!

    :-) Packing tape: it’s timeless.

    Still in DC. Close to leaving but…so exhausted when I do ANYTHING.

    :P

  3. Oh, *that* kind of tape! That didn’t even occur to me, even though it’s really the most obvious. :P

  4. You post very interesting posts here. Your blog deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful
    service that can help you, just search in google: svetsern traffic
    tips


Leave a Reply

Categories

