Posted by: jt | June 15, 2008

seven (plus) songs meme

No surprise that Amber tagged me for this, since I’m a whore for memes. The “rules” – which I assume are only made to be broken – request that you

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring summer. Post these instructions in your blog along with your seven songs. Then tag seven other people to see what they’re listening to.

We’ll start with five and then let the cheating begin.

  1. Hang on Little Tomato – Pink Martini – So much of this album is just languid and summery. Listening to it feels like sipping a mint julep under a shade tree. (Not that I have ever done so or particularly enjoy mint juleps. Regardless.)
  2. Africa – Toto – What can I possibly say? I heard this song about a month ago and it’s been stuck in my head ever since. (It could be worse, I spent my entire sophomore year of high school humming “Karma Chameleon.”) I also discovered an odd affinity for the lyrics, which I didn’t have back in the 80s. Who knew?
  3. Rules and Regulations – Rufus Wainwright – Ah, Rufus. Release the Stars doesn’t do as much for me, lyrically, as some previous albums, but it’s still got some good stuff.
  4. Army of Me – Björk – This is my failsafe kick in the arse song. It’s a good, shut the fuck up and do shit reminder, that I’ve needed of late. Hooray for Björk.
  5. Nighttiming – Coconut Records – I’m such a silly little fangirl, but I like this song. It’s fun, it’s light and that makes it fabulously summery.

In order to get something on this list other than Sia, we need to break a few rules. I have a general tendency toward repetition, which goes a bit over the top when I really like something. A friend of mine insisted that I come to a Sia concert a couple months ago and ever since then, I’ve been pretty hardcore into Some People Have Real Problems. It’s a kickass album and you should check it out. My favorites are in bold:

Little Black Sandals
Lentil
Day Too Soon
You Have Been Loved
The Girl You Lost To Cocaine
Academia
I Go To Sleep
Playground
Death By Chocolate
Soon We’ll Be Found
Electric Bird
Beautiful Calm Driving
Lullaby
Buttons

Tagging? Check out the blogroll and see how few blogs I read. If you wanna play, please play. No invitation necessary.

Responses

  1. I keep seeing that album on display at the register at Starbucks and wondering about it. Guess I should buy it!

  2. [chin falls to chest]

    In the millionth example of who is this person living in DC, because it’s not me, I purchased said album at Starbucks.

    This is not my life.

    Back to researching grad programs that exist in places where, hopefully, I can live my life!

  3. Oh whatever. Don’t be ashamed to buy it at Starbucks. You’re there, it’s there, you want to buy it – instant gratification. What would be really pathetic is if you purposefully went to another store or ordered it online so that you wouldn’t be buying it at Starbucks.

  4. Eh, no shame. Just frustration. It used to be that the only times I went to chain stores were Target and occasionally a mainstream grocery store. Now my life is one mass chain after another and it’s depressing.

    I miss living locally. :P

  5. Eh, at least you’re not one of those obnoxious people that is all superior about not going to chain stores. Those people really chap my ass.

  6. :-) I mostly conquered my superiority in college.

    Mostly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

