Posted by: jt | June 6, 2008

i protest your protest

If the Catholics have it right, I’m so going to hell. Since there’s absolutely no chance they do, let’s get on with things…

I had to run an errand this afternoon and, en route, walked past a crazy lady muttering under her breath. She was pretty well-dressed, as DC crazies go, and it took me a second to realize: she was standing outside of Planned Parenthood, praying the rosary.

Booooooooooooooo.

By the time I put two and two together, I was already past her, so I ran my errand and plotted my own protest for my return. There was no way I was going to engage with this woman. Instead, as she was muttering something about “sins,” I looked her straight in the eye and turned into the clinic.

Once inside, I met with a security guard who asked if I had an appointment. I paused and decided to just come clean. I’m really just here to protest that woman’s protest, I said, pointing out the window. The guard gave a little snort of laughter, said, Thank you, and then, catching herself not being fearsome, reverted back to business. I signed in, handed over my purse for inspection and walked through a metal detector.

Seemingly free of weapons (aside from my cutting wit), I went into the waiting room and smiled at the three women who were there. I explained my situation to the nurse behind the counter and picked up some fliers with contact info. In all seriousness, I don’t have a gynecologist in DC, so why not?

On the way out, I beamed my biggest, brightest smile at the crazy lady fingering her beads.

I’m all for freedom of speech and the right to assemble. And bitches, it works both ways.

Responses

  1. You win at life.

    that is all. <3

  2. This post has features a tie for quote of the day:

    “Seemingly free of weapons (aside from my cutting wit)…”

    and

    “I’m all for freedom of speech and the right to assemble. And bitches, it works both ways.”

    How will we break this deadlock? Perhaps quote #1 should be disqualified because it is not a full sentence.

  3. Oooooooo! I get a QOTD nomination that includes a word you hate! FTW!

  4. You already have a quote in my header rotation that includes that loathsome word…

    “Accountability. It’s a bitch.”

    Context. It matters.


Leave a Reply

Categories

