Posted by: jt | January 27, 2008

a resuscitation

Back in the day when I had a journal (you know, the antiquated paper kind), I would close out my daily entries with a list of 5 things I was grateful for. When I gave up organized religion and with it, prayers, the 5 Things became something of a spiritual touchstone for me.

Sometimes the list is incredibly easy and fun to write. Other times I get stuck after one thing and have to wrack my brain to come up with anything else. The contents might be life altering or they might be as simple as a cup of coffee. Either way, it helps me send a positive vibe out to the universe and makes me live my life a little more deliberately. I’ll catch myself throughout the day making a mental note to include something on the list and, in that moment, I’m grateful.

I’ve fallen out of the habit and it’s time for a resuscitation. And yes, I really am this cheesy, warm, fuzzy, rose-colored glasses. I told you so.

5 Things:

  • negative results that are actually the most positive thing ever
  • honest, trusting conversations
  • undoing a little bit of the Bush administration’s damage
  • the super-cute excitement of new experiences
  • 8 new “brothers” from Jordan and proving, as always, that it doesn’t matter where you’re from, but who you are
Responses

  1. And yes, I really am this cheesy, warm, fuzzy, rose-colored glasses. I told you so.
    Yes. And it’s one of my favorite things about you. Like I said, you balance me. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

